Press Releases

Visa on arrival

To facilitate bonafide foreign tourists who plan their tours at a short notice, Government of India has decided to introduce “Tourist Visa-on-Arrival” for a period of one year for citizens of five countries viz. Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore on an experimental basis w.e.f. 1.1.2010. Tourists from the said countries can also procure their visas from the Missions / Posts in the normal course.

2. The said “Tourist Visa-on-Arrival” with a maximum validity of 30 days with single entry facility shall be granted by the Immigration Officers at Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata airports to start with.

3. The grant of a “Tourist Visa-on-Arrival” shall be regulated as per the guidelines prescribed in the Visa Manual.

New Delhi
January 1, 2010

Clarification on new visa on arrival facility

In response to questions on the recent guidelines on Tourist visas, the Official Spokesperson drew attention to “Frequently Asked Questions Relating to Tourist Visa” available on the website of Ministry of Home Affairs (link: which inter alia clarifies as under:

Q: Whether the gap of two months between two visits would apply to all Tourist Visa holders?

Ans: The gap of two months between two visits would apply to all Tourist Visa holders.

Q: Whether the restriction of two months gap for re-entering India is applicable to PIO/OCI card holders and foreigners holding business, employment, student and other categories of visa?

Ans: No. The two months gap is applicable only to Tourist Visa holders.

New Delhi
January 1, 2010